VIEILLE CHARITÉ

The Hospice of the Vieille Charité: an unusual story

It is in the 17th century that the King decides "the confinement of the poor and beggars" and that the City of Marseille implements this decision by means of a new monumental construction entrusted to the architect Pierre Puget. La Vieille Charité is the greatest accomplishment of this child from the Panier district born not far from there in the Rue du Petit Puits.

The construction of the Vieille Charité begins in 1671 with a first wing and will end well after the death of its author, in 1745. It is François Puget, who resumes the conduct of the works after the disappearance of his father in 1694 to finish the chapel and the other wings that make up today's building.

The Vieille Charité becomes in the 18th century a hospice of old and poor until the end of the 19th century. It is the army that will occupy it for a few years and then families without housing after the destruction of part of Le Panier during the German occupation of Marseille.

A long restoration of the Vieille Charité

In 1941, architect Le Corbusier denounced the abandonment of this fabulous building and allow the Vieille Charité to take the path of recognition as a historical monument and restoration. This emblematic site of the Panier that we know today was totally restored in 1986 and gave a new soul to the Panier district.

The Vieille Charité today

La Vieille Charité houses a museum, a cultural and research center. The spaces on the ground floor have temporary exhibitions as in 2014 on Picasso. The first floor houses the Museum of Mediterranean Archeology and the second is the Museum of African, Oceanic and Native American Art.

INFORMATIONS

Free entrance in the building, courtyard and floors

Permanent exhibit : Free

Temporary exhibit : Full price 6€, Reduction 3€

Now showing​ : Syria in black and white, photo exhibit

11 sept 2020 - 24 jan 2021

 

Previous exhibit​ Par Hasard

WHEN

from Tuesday to Sunday

9am - 6pm

Closed January 1st, Mai 1st, November 1st, December 25th

WHERE

Tramway Sadi-Carnot

Métro Colbert

Through le passage Lorette

See practical infos

La Vieille Charité is a fabulous historical monument. It shelters a cultural center which is the true lung of the district of Le Panier with the Mucem. It is possible to visit for free this architectural masterpiece entrusted to the child of the district, Pierre Puget.

Visite du quartier du Panier

VISIT

Best places inside the old city

expo marseille mucem l'orient sonore.jpg

22 JULY 2020 - 04 FEB 2021

EXHIBIT au Mucem

Brunch_my_World_-__-_Restaurant_clandest

SECRET PLACE

Somewhere in the Old Marseille

Boutique de cadeaux Marseille

Concept store

LA VIEILLE CHARITÉ

C'est au 17ème siècle que le Roi décide «l'enfermement des pauvres et des mendiants» et que la Ville de Marseille met en oeuvre cette décision au moyen d'une nouvelle construction monumentale confiée à l'architecte Pierre Puget. La Vieille Charité est la plus grande réalisation de cet enfant du quartier du Panier né non loin de là dans la rue du Petit Puits.

La construction de la Vieille Charité commence en 1671 avec une première aile et s'achèvera bien après la mort de son auteur, en 1745. C'est François Puget, qui reprend la conduite des travaux après la disparition de son père en 1694 pour finir la chapelle et les autres ailes qui constituent l'édifice d'aujourd'hui.

La Vieille Charité devient au 18ème siècle un hospice de vieillard et d'indigents jusqu'à la fin du 19ème siècle. C'est l'armée qui va l'occuper pour quelques années et ensuite des familles sans logement après la destruction d'une partie du Panier pendant l'occupation allemande de Marseille.

Une longue restauration de la Vieille Charité

En 1941, l'architecte Le Corbusier va dénoncer l'abandon de ce fabuleux bâtiment et permettre à la Vieille Charité de prendre le chemin de la reconnaissance comme monument historique et de la restauration. Ce site emblématique du Panier que nous connaissons aujourd'hui a été totalement restauré en 1986 et a donné une nouvelle âme au quartier du Panier

La Vieille Charité aujourd'hui

La Vieille Charité abrite aujourd’hui un musée, un centre culturel et de recherches. Les espaces en rez-de-chaussée présentent des expositions temporaires comme en 2014 sur Picasso. Le première étage abrite le musée d'archéologie méditerranéenne et le deuxième le musée d'arts africains, océaniens et amérindiens.

INFORMATIONS

Entrée gratuite pour visite de la cour et étages du monument.

Entrée exposition : Tarif plein 8€, tarif réduit 5€

Site web du musée la Vieille Charité

En savoir plus, sur Wikipédia

Exposition du moment 

Par hasard

QUAND

du mardi au dimanche

9h30 - 18h

Fermé le 1er janvier, 1er mai, 1 novembre, 25 décembre

Tramway Sadi-Carnot

Métro Colbert

Par le passage Lorette

Voir infos pratiques

La Vieille Charité est un fabuleux monument historique. Il abrite un centre culturel qui est le véritable poumon du quartier du Panier avec le Mucem. Il est possible de visiter gratuitement ce chef-d'oeuvre architectural confié à l'enfant du quartier, Pierre Puget. 

L'hospice de la Vieille Charité : une histoire insolite​ 

SUIVEZ-NOUS SUR

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle