LA CATHÉDRALE DE LA MAJOR

The Cathedral of La Major is both the oldest church in France and the last cathedral built on French territory. Its origins date back to early Christianity in Europe and the site has undergone many transformations to this day.

The new Major was completed in 1893 after 40 years of construction followed by 3 successive architects. This monumental building, equivalent in size to St. Peter's of Rome, sits on the port of Commerce of Marseille at a time when the city is the essential point of passage between the West and the East, between the metropolis and the colonies and French counters..

For years, it is almost forgotten because of its encaissement between the bridge of highway, an ugly carpark and the districts of Panier and Joliette, very different from today.

The arrival of the Mucem and the rehabilitation of the esplanade now opens it to the city and the sea. It is good to stroll, see play children and skaters or settle there for the sunset.

Very old origins of the Cathedral of the Major

The Cathédrale Sainte Marie Majeure is better known by the Marseillais by its Occitan name La Major. Its foundations are superimposed on an old church of the 4th century. There are even older origins at this religious site with foundations dating back to early Christianity. From this period still remain some mosaics on the ground and a baptistery.

Several enlargements and restorations follow one another during the Medieval period until the construction in the 12th century of a Romanesque cathedral.

The construction of the new Major

It is in 1852 that the Bishop decides the construction in a Roman-Byzantine style. This monumental cathedral wants to recall its connections with the Orient by its port, one of the most important in the Mediterranean and France at the time.

Procession of August 15

August 15th is a major event for the Panier district with the celebration of the Madonna Procession.

 

The faithful leave the Golden Virgin of the Major and go in procession in the streets of Le Panier. The crowd grazes the status, some hang rosaries and messages on the arms of the Virgin of the Major and the children are presented to him.

WHEN

du Wednesday to Monday

10h00 - 17h30 October - March

10h00 - 18h30 April - September

WHERE

Métro ou Tramway T2-T3 Sadi Carnot

Trough the passage Lorette, walk down the rue du Petit-Puits au Panier.

From the Old-Port, Notre-Dame de la garde

Bus 60 terminus Mucem

 

From Saint-Charles train station

Bus 82 et 82S

Visit le Panier with our maps

INFORMATIONS

LA CATHÉDRALE DE LA MAJOR

La Cathédrale de la Major est à la fois la plus ancienne église de France et la dernière cathédrale construite sur le territoire français. Ses origines remontent au début du christianisme en Europe et le site a connu de nombreuses transformations jusqu'à ce jour.

La nouvelle Major est terminée en 1893 après 40 ans de construction suivie par 3 architectes successifs. Cet édifice monumental, de taille équivalente à Saint-Pierre de Rome, trône sur le port de Commerce de Marseille à un moment où la ville est le point de passage incontournable entre l'Occident et l'Orient, entre la Métropole et les colonies et comptoirs français.

Pendant des années, elle est presque oubliée à cause de son encaissement entre la passerelle d'autoroute, un affreux parking et les quartiers du Panier et de la Joliette, très différents d'aujourd´hui.

L'arrivée du Mucem et la réhabilitation de l'esplanade l'ouvre désormais sur la ville et la mer. Il fait bon y flâner, voir jouer enfants et skateurs ou s'y poser pour le coucher de soleil.

Des origines très anciennes pour la Cathédrale de la Major

La Cathédrale Sainte Marie Majeure est plus connue des Marseillais par son nom occitan La Major.

Ses fondations se superposent à une ancienne église du 4ème siècle. On trouve même des origines plus anciennes à ce site religieux avec des fondations remontant au christianisme primitif. De cette époque restent encore quelques mosaïques sur le sol et un baptistère.

Plusieurs agrandissements et restaurations se succèdent à l'époque Médiévale jusqu'à la construction au 12ème siècle d'une cathédrale d'un style roman. 

La construction de la nouvelle Major

C'est en 1852 que l'Évêché décide la construction dans un style romano-byzantin. Cette cathédrale monumentale veut rappeler ses connections avec l'Orient par son port, un des plus importants en Méditerranée et en France à l'époque.

Procession du 15 août

Le 15 août est un événement majeur pour le quartier du Panier avec la célébration de la Procession à la Madone.

 

Les fidèles sortent la Vierge dorée de la Major et partent en procession dans les rues du Panier. La foule effleure la statut, certains accrochent des chapelets et des messages sur les bras de la Vierge de la Major et les enfants lui sont présentés.

QUAND

du mercredi au lundi

10h00 - 17h30 d'octobre à mars

10h00 - 18h30 d'avril à septembre

Métro ou Tramway T2-T3 Sadi Carnot

Par le passage Lorette, traverser la rue du Petit-Puits au Panier.

Du Vieux-Port, de Notre-Dame de la garde

Bus 60 terminus Mucem

 

De la Gare Saint-Charles

Bus 82 et 82S

Visiter le Panier avec nos cartes

INFORMATIONS

Site web du diocèse

marseille.catholique.fr

SUIVEZ-NOUS SUR

  • Facebook - Black Circle
  • Twitter - Black Circle
  • Instagram - Black Circle